Angelicchio Sweeps Dog Hollow Thunder Dog Weekend


STRONGSTOWN, PA (September 23, 2017) – Dan Angelicchio scored his biggest weekend ever after winning both nights of the Thunder Dog Showdown at Dog Hollow Speedway over the weekend. Angelicchio picked up $2500 on Friday night and then followed that up with a $6000 paycheck in the Thunder Dog Finale on Saturday. Jon Lee won the $1500 Poor Boys Dream for 358 Semi Lates. Ray Hickock won $700 in the AMSOIL Pure Stocks with Joe Petyak taking the $1400 win in the Lias Tire CARS Crate Late Models. Other winners were Pat Brehm in the DM Craig Fabrication & Welding 4 Cylinders and Mike Spinneweber in the Super 6 Late Models.
A redraw for the top 12 saw Angelicchio getting the pole position for the 60-lap Thunder Dog Finale with Dan Stone along side. It took two tries to get the event started but Angelicchio wasted no time grabbing the top spot. Stone chased him the first three laps before Kyle Hardy replaced him and took up chase. With a clear track in front of him Angelicchio pulled away. Hardy and Stone soon closed in as they approached lapped traffic. Hardy made several attempts and took the lead on lap 13 but Angelicchio would have none of that and powered back out front the next lap. Stone then took the second spot back from Hardy on lap 17. Neither driver could stay with the Mt. Pleasant driver unless they were in lapped traffic. The 60 lap race took it’s toll on some top competitors with tire issues. Ryan Montgomery came from 15th to fourth before receiving a flat tire. Trevor Feathers stated 12th and was up to fifth when he too was a victim of tire wear.
Meanwhile Anglelicchio kept his XR1 Rocket Chassis out front the rest of the race to pick up the $6000 paycheck in victory lane. Kyle Hardy came home in the runner up spot over Rance Garlock, Trevor Feathers came back to take fourth over Austin Berry, Rick Singleton, Coleby Frye, Robbie Black, Dan Stone and Matt Cosner. Jason Miller, Matt Cosner, Dan Angelicchio and Trevor Feathers were the qualifying heat winners. Charlie Powell, Jr. and Mason Zeigler were the B-Main winners.
The 358 Semi Lates ran a 35-lap Poor Boys Dream race paying $1500 to win. Mahaffey’s Jon Lee took home his biggest payday also collection another $300 for being hard charger in his heat on Friday night for a grand total of $1800. Joe Martin, driving the Nathan Snyder 155, took the lead at the start. Martin led the first nine laps before a caution flew. On the restart it was Jon Lee taking the top spot away and racing off to his fourth win of the season at DHS. Waco Williams was second over Joe Martin, Todd English and Jason Mullen. Lee won Friday nights heat race.
Joe Petyak, driving the Paul Ivory 00, led all 30-laps on his way to winning the Lias Tire CARS Crate Late Model feature. It was a caution filled event that saw ten yellows. Petyak held on and held off Robert Cossell, Troy Shields, Clate Copeman and Bryan Benton to claim his win. Sixth through tenth were Mike Laughard, Wendell Pickney, Braeden Dillinger, Corey Neal and Chris Angelicchio. Heat winner the night before Clint Hersh, Troy Shields and Clate Copeman.
Pat Brehm returned after a few months off and won the 20-lap DM Craig Fabrication & Welding 4 Cylinder main. Brehm and Jack Theys put on a classic battle racing each other clean. Brehm led the first eight laps before 2017 track champion Jack Theys took over. It looked like Theys was on his way to victory but Brehm made the winning pass with just three laps to go. It was Brehm’s first win of the season and he collected $400 for his efforts. Theys was second followed by Kolton Wagner, Mike Phillipson, Donald Needham, Dylan Young, Jamie Noel, Chuck Dizzle, Tanner Lansberry and Marc Whetstone, Jr.. Preliminary heats went to Theys and Kolton Wagner.
The AMSOIL Pure Stocks only had one caution in their 25-lap feature and it was Ray Hickok, Jr. parking his Ford powered car in victory lane and collecting $700. Amber Mills, the 2017 track champion, led the opening two laps before Hickok got by. With only one caution on lap 17, Hickok blew the field away. Mike Benton was second ahead of Brian Savino, Anthony Monteparte and Mike Ball. Hickok won the lone heat.
In the Super 6 Late Models Mike Spinneweber was not to be denied. Mike led all 20-laps in collecting his second win of the season. Dave Blazavich was second over Levi Spinneweber, Frank McFeaters and Cole Patrell. The heat was won by Levi Spinneweber.

Thunder Dog Finale for the Townsend Gas & Oil Super Late Models (36): Dan Angelicchio, Kyle Hardy, Rance Garlock, Trevor Feathers, Austin Berry, Rick Singleton, Coleby Frye, Robbie Black, Dan Stone, Matt Cosner, Chris Ferrell, Ryan Montgomery, Jason Miller, Dave Blazavich, Michael Lake, Andrew Wylie, Devin Friese, Shawn Claar, Charlie Powell, Jr., Dylan Yoder, Waylon Wagner, Billy Dickson, George Lee, DQ – Mason Zeigler, Andy Fries.
DNS – Josh Whetstone, Mike Altobelli, Jr., Curtis Teets, Brian Tavenner, Tim Smith, Jr., Tom Decker, Jr., Jerry Redden, Keith Jackson, Chuck Clise, Kirk Baker, Andrew Yoder.
Poor Boys Dream for 358 Semi Lates (10): Jon Lee, Waco Williams, Joe Martin, Todd English, Jason Mullen, Bernie Whiteford, Jr., Caleb Whiteford, Bill Burns, Jeff Fochler, Bryan Benton.
Lias Tire CARS Crate Late Models (21): Joe Petyak, Robert Cossell, Troy Shields, Clate Copeman, Bryan Benton, Mike Laughard, Wendell Pickney, Braeden Dillinger, Corey Neal, Chris Angelicchio, Greg Beach, Jonathan Stockdale, Jeff Haines, Marino Angelicchio, Ryan Frazee, Joe Moyer, Chris Frank, Brad McGinnis, Joe Brawley, Colin Casale, Clint Hersh.
DM Craig Fabrication & Welding 4 Cylinders (20): Pat Brehm, Jack Theys, Kolton Wagner, Mike Phillipson, Donald Needham, Dylan Young, Jamie Noel, Chuck Dizzle, Tanner Lansberry, Marc Whetstone, Jr., Brooks Kauffman, Jay Swager, Jr., Bill Eckenrode, Skyler Eckenrode, Brad Lemonovich, Bryan Ickes, Craig Smith, Cody Young, Mike Potter, DNS – Ben LeHane.
AMSOIL Pure Stocks (10): Ray Hickok, Jr., Mike Benton, Brian Savino, Anthony Monteparte, Mike Ball, Ron Benton, Amber Mills, Fred Casagni.
Super 6 Late Models (5): Mike Spinneweber, Dave Blazavich, Levi Spinneweber, Frank McFeaters, Cole Patrell

Speak Your Mind