Jack Sodeman, Jr Carves His Way To 410 Sprint Special At Dog Hollow


(Derek Bobik Photo)

STRONGSTOWN, PA (October 7, 2017) – North Jackson, Ohio’s Jack Sodeman, Jr. carved his way to the victory in the 410 Sprint feature as part of the Halloween Madness show at Dog Hollow Speedway on Saturday. Sodeman earned himself a $3000 paycheck for the win and stated that the drivers would like to see more races at DHS. Casey Fleegle drove his PT Cruiser to his first DHS win in the DM Craig Fabrication & Welding 4 Cylinder feature. In the Street Stock main event Commodore’s Ray Hickok, Jr. haunted the field in his Ford powered machine to garner the win while Shawn Fessler, of Six Mile Run, spooked the field to win the AMSOIL Pure Stocks.
George Hobaugh and Dan Shetler led the 16-car field to the green in the 30-lap 410 Sprint feature. Hobaugh wasted no time in taking the lead and proceeded to pull away from Shetler. Jack Sodeman, Jr. too over the second spot from Shetler on lap five. A restart closed up the field and on lap eight Sodeman was the new leader. Lap after lap Sodeman pulled away from the pack. Carl Bowser overtook Hobaugh for second on laps 12. After two early yellows the race went caution free and nobody could catch the high flying Sodeman. Bowser settled for second over Adam Cruea (Troy, OH), Hobaugh (Chicora), Dan Shetler (Johnstown), AJ Flick (Apollo), Jimmy Seger (Morrisdale), Michael Bauer (Clarion), Bradley Howard (Lewisberry) and Clay Riney (Wheeling, WV). Hobaugh and Shetler were the heat winners.
Kolton Wagner led the first four laps of the DM Craig Fabrication & Welding 4 Cylinder feature. Wagner was passed by Casey Fleegle, of Friedens, who went on to lead the final fourteen laps to earn his first DHS victory. Fleegle’s win came in a PT Cruiser. Brady Miller, driving Jack Theys’ 666, was second over John Costa, Mike Phillipson, Patrick Crawford, Donald Needham, Marc Whetstone, Jr., Brooks Kauffman, Brad Lemonovich and Bryan Ickes.
Heat winner Ray Hickok, Jr. led all 16-laps to win the Street Stock feature event over Ryan Sager. Sager had pulled along side of Hickok before spinning out and going to the rear. Sager drove back through to take second but could not catch the Ford powered machine. Sager, Dave Korlewitz, Bob Egley and Tony Iarrapino.
Unbelievable is the only way to describe Shawn Fessler’s victory in the AMSOIL Pure Stock feature. Brian Savino led the first four laps before a caution flew. On the restart Savino and John Mazey made contact with both cars spinning along with Preston Imler. Those three and Jesse Fessler all dropped out. This gave the lead to Justin Queen, making his first start in 2017. Queen led five laps before being spun out by Mike Ball. Both cars received flat tires and went to the pits leaving only the 51X of Fessler on the track. The driver get two laps to replace the tire and only Ball got back out before the green flew. Fessler led the final seven laps that saw him become the fan favorite in taking the win. Mike Ball was second and the only other car running. Queen was credited with third over Shawn Thorn and Preston Imler. Savino won the lone heat.
An exciting final two laps saw Paul Crynock III take the win on the final lap of the 100 lap Enduro over Jeremy Claar, Stephen Bainey, Dalton Long and Zach Matish.

410 Sprints (16): Jack Sodeman, Jr., Carl Bowser, Adam Cruea, George Hobaugh, Dan Shetler, AJ Flick, Jimmy Seger, Michael Bauer, Bradley Howard, Clay Riney, Davey Jones, Pete Landram, Ray Sheetz, Sadie Siegel, Dan Kuriger, Darren Pifer.
DM Craig Fabrication & Welding 4 Cylinders (22): Casey Fleegle, Brady Miller, John Costa, Mike Phillipson, Patrick Crawford, Donald Needham, Marc Whetstone, Jr., Brooks Kauffman, Brad Lemonovich, Bryan Ickes, Ben Lehane, Don Inskeep, Jamie Noel, Matt Ruffing, Kolton Wagner, Cody Young, Dylan Young, David Scott, Brent Bickerstaff, Chuck Dizzle, Mark Boll, DNS – Skyler Eckenrode.
Street Stock (6): Ray Hickok, Jr., Ryan Sager, Dave Korlewitz, Bob Egley and Tony Iarrapino.
AMOIL Pure Stocks (8): Shawn Fessler, Mike Ball, Justin Queen, Shawn Thorn, Preston Imler, Jesse Fessler, Brian Savino, John Mazey.

Speak Your Mind