Tyler County Speedway Kicks Off 43rd Season With Jam Packed Pit Area


(Middlebourne, WV) With Mother Nature finally cooperating the Tyler County Speedway was able to officially kick off the 2017 season. A jam packed pit area featuring 148 cars and highlighted by the lone visit of the BRP Big Block Modified Tour would welcome racefans back to the ‘Bullring’ for another exciting season. Picking up opening night wins were New Yorker Eric Rudolph, Derek Doll, Shawn Jett, Kyle Lukon, Mitch Ward, Mick Baker, Bill Tennant, Gage Stalder and George Casto III.

The groundpounding stars of the Big Block Mod Tour would invade the Tyler County Speedway as 21 of the Northeast best would take to the challenges of the ‘Bullring’. New York’s Erick Rudolph would be up to the task as Rudolph would snare his 100th career win by holding off a hard charging Garrett Krummert to capture the 35 lap Modified Tour main event. Following Rudolph was Krummert, Rex King Sr., Randy Chrysler and Rex King Jr.

An attrition filled J&R Excavating Super Late Model main event would see defending track champion Derek Doll of Greenwood, WV aboard the Doll Bros./Throttle Nation/ Payne’s Trucking/BSI Well Service Rocket chassis survive after race long leader Michael Lake would spin collecting 2nd place running Steve Weigle. Following Doll across the stripe were Kyle Thomas and Gary Dalton.

Shawn Jett of Salem, WV aboard the sharp looking Rocket 1J would garner his first ever 2 Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modified win at the ‘Bullring’. Following the 2016 track champion would be Dave Defibaugh, Chad Smith, JE Stalder from the tail, and veteran Bob Moskey rounding out the top five in a very competitive AMRA modified division.

A full moon like Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model feature would feature a plethora of cautions and wrecks. When the dust settled on the battle royal it would be Burgettstown, Pennsylvania’s Kyle Lukon picking up the opening night win. Lukon would best Michael Duritsky, a hard charging Sonny Conley, Tyler Stutler and Sparky Davidson to the stripe. Lukon pilots the Phil Lukon owned Yoho Excavating/Phil Lukon;s Reb-Fab/Ingram Engine Rocket chassis.

In the Modlite division it was Spelter, WV’s Mitch Ward garnering the win aboard the Wards Welding/Schaeffers Oil/RodEnd Supply #862 Leader chassis ahead of a rapidly improving Scott Sole, Daniel Eddy, Josh Baldwin and Chris Robinson.

A bulging field of 28 Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmods presented by Poske Performance Parts would see the 2016 track champion Mick Baker of Middlebourne have the field covered. The sharp looking Summit Oil/Auto Plus/ Baker Farms/ Gear 2 Graphics #47 of Baker would roll around the speedway’s top shelf on his way to his first win of the season and finishing ahead of Lou Ennis, Jordan Shaffer, Jeff Gorrell and Daniel Muldrew rounding out the top five.

After a year absence, Bill Tennant was back and in full force as the Colliers, WV racer aboard the B&J Performance #2 would dominate the main. Finishing behind Tennant was a vicious battle for the runner-up spot between Kevin Criswell, Robert Frohnapfel, April Tennant and Donnie Wamsley.

A strong field of 17 MWRA Mini Wedges would kick off the program with Gage Stalder picking up the Senior division win ahead of Lucas Zombotti and Luke Hyre. Defending track champion George Casto III would pick up right where he left off in 2016 by taking the checkers in the Junior class ahead of Tripp Perine and Keith Powell.

Join us this Saturday Night, April 22nd as the Tyler County Speedway will play host to Bridgeport Equipment Night, longtime supporters of the ‘Bullring’. As the regions most fan friendly speedway will play host to the first of four Hometown Heroes BOGO Nights, this week featuring all race fans of Wetzel County. It will be a buy one ticket get one free promotion for all Wetzel County resident with proof of residency courtesy of Bridgeport Equipment & Tool.

Tyler County Speedway is located 3 ½ miles south of Middlebourne, WV on State Route 18 at the Tyler County Fairgrounds approximately an hour from Wheeling, Clarksburg and Parkersburg. Featuring a spacious scenic campground along the Middle Island Creek with hookups, picnic shelters, playgrounds, shower and bathroom facilities among the many facility amenities to enhance the racing experience at West Virginia’s premier venue for motorsports. For complete Tyler County Speedway event information, news stories, ticket info and schedule information for the season, visit www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com or call the track at 304-771-5661 or 304-771-6874 or on Raceday at 304-758-2660.

Saturday Night, April 15 Tyler County Speedway Feature Results

Big Block Modified Tour Feature: Erick Rudolph, Garrett Krummert, Rex King Sr., Randy Chrysler, Rex King Jr., Rick Regalski, Kevin Hoffman, Skip Moore, Brad Rapp, Kyle Fink, Tyler Willard, Dave Murdick, Mark Fankhouser, JR McGinley, Rod Laskey, Chris Haines, Shawn Kozar, Steve Barr, Tom Glenn, Travis Shingledecker, Jeremiah Shingledecker

J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land and Timber Feature: Derek Doll, Kyle Thomas, Gary Dalton, Steve Weigle, Michael Lake, Cody Rogers, Brian Baumberger, Drake Meeks, Dylan Bledsoe, Travis Brown

2 Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modified Feature: Shawn Jett, Dave Defibaugh, Chad Smith, JE Stalder, Bob Moskey, Cody Henthorn, Mike Baldwin, Kurt Rogers, Jim Ruckman, Jamie McCloud, Kevin Dotson, Nick Corbitt, Del Cunningham, Joel Prosser, Lance Elson, Codi Eaton, Justin Hart

Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model Feature: Kyle Lukon, Michael Duritsky, Sonny Conley, Tyler Stutler, Sparky Davidson, Katelyn Frazier, Garrett Jones, Terry Williams, Brandon Weigle, Troy Frazier, Henry Hornsby, Derek Rogers, AJ Spagnuola, Ryan Payne, Danny Thomas, Wylie Ford, Todd Chicklo, Brandon McGrady, Michael Bland, Trey Watson

Modlite Feature: Mitch Ward, Scott Sole, Daniel Eddy, Josh Baldwin, Chris Robinson, Brandon Fluharty, Zak Kimbrew, Brandon Shaw, Ryan Saffell, Matt Ward, Sam Richards, Troy Collins, Alex Robinson, Justin Eddy, Ryan Jones, Cole Petrelle, Roger Griffin, Travis Minor, John Cogar, Kolbe Kimbrew

Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmod Presented by Poske Performance Parts Feature: Mick Baker, Lou Ennis, Jordan Shaffer, Jeff Gorrell, Daniel Muldrew, Travis Thomas, Tim Pennell, Roland Bell, Caleb Thomas, Steve Magyar, Chad A. Smith, Larry Higgins, Casey Ash, Brian Butler, Matt Yost, Martin Lamm, Stevi Magyar, CJ Dotson, Brian Clegg, Chris Thomas DNQ: Jonathan Hutson, Levi Nolan, Brian Myers, Roo Roo Dotson, Josh Golden, Roland Fulmer, John Thomas

4 Cylinder Feature: Bill Tennant, Kevin Criswell, Robert Frohnapfel, April Tennant, Donnie Wamsley, Ethan Drain, Scott Critchfield, Wesley Tennant, Clifford Anderson, Collin Holmes, DNS Mike Baker

Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Mini Wedge Senior Division: Gage Stalder, Lucas Zombotti, Luke Hyre, Ethan McCune, Dalton Goode, Trent Baker, Susie Rudolph, Blake Runyon, Seth Richards, Allen Clark

Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Mini Wedge Junior Division: George Casto III, Tripp Perine, Keith Powell, Blane Holmes, Carson Thomas, Gavin Swiger, Logan Clark

Speak Your Mind